Amy Regan, you is awesome!

Hailing originally from New Jersey (yes, we will refrain from any Jersey jokes, we promise!), Amy Regan has a smooth, bluesy voice with a slight kick of soul. She grew up singing and playing piano, and like every musician worth her salt, picked up guitar along the way, developed some pretty neat songwriting chops, and started packing the house whenever she plays in various NYC venues, such as Rockwood Music Hall and the Living Room.

In fact, you’re in luck, because not only is she playing at the Red Lion in March, she’ll be throwing down at Rockwood on Saturday, April 4th at 4:00pm. And you can’t say we’re not giving you enough notice, so ink it down in your calendar, and we’ll see you in April for a 2-for-1 drink special and some Amy Regan tunes at Rockwood.

Amyhello

YouIsAwesome: What’s your least favorite curse word?
Amy Regan: That would have to be bitch…always seems sexist to me.

YIA: What would you say was the overall theme of the album you recorded at 15?
AR: I would say there are two themes intertwined…half the songs chronicle a relationship I was in at the time, starting with innocent songs of young love, then feelings of anger and betrayal when he immaturely broke up with me OVER E-MAIL (this detail was thankfully not included in the song), and ending with the peace I came to about moving on. The other theme was my love for music, and all of the aspirations and uncertainties that came along with it — there was a song about the freedom that music gave me, one about my undying dedication to it, and also a song that depicts what my life might be like as a “starving” artist.

YIA: If you had it your way, would we all still be listening to vinyls?
AR: I wouldn’t want vinyls to disappear, but I have to admit there is sometimes a certain charm to the iPod age…being able to have all of your favorite albums in the palm of your hand, and when shuffle seems to predict your mood, handing you all the right songs at all the right times…it makes you wonder if Apple is really more magical than we already know they are.

YIA: Of the three daughters of King Lear, Cordelia is the good one and Regan and Goneril the bad ones…
AR: Amy Cordelia has a nice ring to it, don’t you think? =) Hmm….I think I’ll stick with Amy Regan. I can be a bad girl… 😉

YIA: If you had black hair, would you wear black boots more often?
AR: Maybe, maybe not. I do wear brown a lot because it works well with my coloring, but I also just really like earth tones.

YIA: And Then There is This is the title of your EP. Hmm…What’s “This”?
AR: And Then There Is This is the title of the last song on my EP — the lyric goes: “In all I don’t know at least I know one thing/ There is everything I’ve been that never mattered/ And then there is this.” It’s referring to my music…how much it is part of my identity, and my passion for life.

YIA: Marry, sleep with, kill, Joizy edition: Bruce Springsteen, Frank Sinatra, Bon Jovi.
AR: Bruce Springsteen and I share the same birthday…so does that mean we’d make a horrible married couple? Either way, I’d like to get to know him. I’ve found astrology to be eerily accurate so I’m thinking we’d have a lot in common. And I might be tempted to sleep with Sinatra if he sang I Got You Under My Skin to me in the early days. And as for the killing…I have a hard time with killing. I’m the kind of person can’t kill a spider — when I find one. I let it crawl on a piece of paper and then carefully carry it out to the balcony, the whole time assuring it…”It’s ok…I’m just going to put you outside.” So Bon Jovi gets a break on this one.

YIA: Just how bitter do you think The Bitter End is?
AR: Not very…I just saw that Ryan Cabrera is going to play there this week. Remember…Ashlee Simpson’s boyfriend? Isn’t that crazy?

YIA: What would the world be like without computers?
AR: I think we would all have a little more time to breathe and think and not always be so consumed with checking out email or updating our Facebook status. But on the other hand, we would have a lot more unanswered questions because we wouldn’t be able to Google anything and everything we ever wondered about. And from a more practical standpoint, I would have a REALLY hard time promoting my shows without email, MySpace, and Facebook.

~ by youisawesome on March 2, 2009.

One Response to “Amy Regan, you is awesome!”

  1. Oh yay, I enjoy that there is a video clip! 🙂

Comments are closed.

 
